Built in 1880, the Pavilion lay derelict since ceasing to operate as a venue in the 1970s. Ownership passed to the Scottish Historic Buildings Trust in 1996 and restoration was carried out under the direction of LDN Architects. Various inappropriate alterations and extensions were stripped away to reveal the original unique timber structure, and to improve flexibility of use, a contemporary glazed screen was inserted in the verandah around the main space. The project is as much about rural regeneration as building restoration; the Pavilion is now being run by a community based company as an artistic and cultural resource.
STRATHPEFFER IV14 9DL
The Historic Buildings Trust
Click or tap an image to view full-screen.