A project where the family had outgrown its house. This prominent house in a picturesque village and Conservation Area, was built as two flats and a smithy. Made into a single house in the 1950's, with a later extension on the smithy, circulation was becoming convoluted. The project adds a floor to the smithy, continuing the slope of the newer extension to wrap over a new timber framed and clad structure over the original walls. The cladding is untreated Scottish Larch and swept down over the stonework below to form a soft junction between the new and the old.
Click or tap an image to view full-screen.