All work on housing projects that require a building warrant, such as new build projects, extensions or refurbishments, must meet the requirement of the Section 6 (Energy) Scottish Building Standards. However, calculating energy use is complex and is becoming more specialised. RIAS Energy Design Certifiers can help building owners and developers meet these energy standards and they can issue Certificates of Design which provide assurance of compliance.

The RIAS Energy Design Certifiers are highly qualified professionals and members of a scheme approved by the Scottish Government. They can certify as part of a wider design service or certify the design of others as part of a multi-disciplinary team. Download the RIAS Energy Design Certification Leaflet.

RIAS Member Approved Certifiers

Mr Richard Atkins FRIAS RIBA

Richard Atkins Chartered Architect
1 Carlaverock Farm Cottages, Tranent, EH33 2NF
01875 614105

richard@atkins-architecture.co.uk

Mr Jamie Bateman RIAS RIBA

Smith Scott Mullan Associates
378 Leith Walk
EDINBURGH EH7 4PF
United Kingdom
0131 555 1414

mail@smith-scott-mullan.co.uk

Mr William Beatson RIAS RIBA

W J Beatson Architect
2
Island View
Dundee Road
PERTH PH2 7HS
United Kingdom
01738 633 659

wjbeatson@gmail.com

Mr Matt Bridgestock RIAS

John Gilbert Architects Ltd
201 The White Studios
Templeton on the Green
62 Templeton Street
GLASGOW G40 1DA
United Kingdom
0141 551 8383

enquiries@johngilbert.co.uk

Mr Peter Caunt RIAS

Quercus Ltd
Sunnyside Studio
HERIOT EH38 5YE
United Kingdom
01875 835 220

peter@quercus.scot

Ms Angela Cooper RIAS RIBA

Cooper & MacGregor LLP
86 Summerhill Crescent
ABERDEEN AB15 6ED
United Kingdom
01224 323 839

mail@coopmac.scot

Mr Jamie Cowan RIAS

Riach Partnership Ltd
200 Bath Street, Glasgow, G2 4HG
0141 353 1230

mail@riach.co.uk

Mr Michael Doherty RIAS RIBA

Lee Boyd Limited
6 Canaan Lane
EDINBURGH EH10 4SY
United Kingdom
0131 447 1818

design@leeboyd.com

Mr Adrian Fatol RIAS RIBA

Bracewell Stirling Consulting
5 Ness Bank
INVERNESS IV2 4SF
United Kingdom
01463 233760

mailbox@bracewell-stirling.co.uk

Ms Mhairi Grant RIAS RIBA

Paper Igloo Ltd
Ostro
Fintry Road
KIPPEN FK8 3HL
United Kingdom
01786 870 539

mhairi@paperigloo.com

Mr David Jamieson RIAS RIBA

Zone Architects
211 Granton Road
EDINBURGH EH5 1HD
United Kingdom
0131 551 1973

info@zonearchitects.co.uk

Mr David Liston RIAS RIBA

Liston Architects
33/6 London Street
EDINBURGH EH3 6LY
United Kingdom
0131 556 5757

enquiries@listonarchitects.co.uk

Mr Iain Livesley RIAS

Iain Livesley Architect
Coneas
Balconie
EVANTON IV16 9XG
United Kingdom
01349 805 002

mail@iainlivesleyarchitect.co.uk

Mr Duncan MacDonald RIAS RIBA

Blueprint Architecture and Design Ltd
8 Tower Street
TAIN IV19 1DY
United Kingdom
01862 892 900

mail@blueprintarchitecture.com

Mr Stuart MacGill RIAS RIBA

SAS Design
21 Lembert Drive, Clarkston, Glasgow, G76 7NQ
0141 638 3537

smeag2002@madasafish.com

Mr Michael McLellan RIAS RIBA

CMA Architects Limited
Hillington Park Innovation Centre
Unit1.07
1 Ainslie Road
GLASGOW G52 4RU
United Kingdom
0141 946 0202

m.mclellan@campbell-morris.com

Ms Christine Palmer FRIAS RIBA

Christine J Palmer Chartered Architect
11 Bankwell Road
ANSTRUTHER KY10 3DA
United Kingdom
01333 631 193

christine_j_palmer@yahoo.co.uk

Mr Jonathan Potter FRIAS RIBA

Robert Potter & Partners LLP
169 Elderslie Street, Glasgow, G3 7JR
0141 332 9111

glasgow@rppmail.com

Mr Keith Renton RIAS

Keith Renton Architect
Humestanes Studio
Hume Hall Holdings
Greenlaw
DUNS TD10 6UW
United Kingdom
01361 810271

info@keithrentonarchitect.co.uk

Mr William Reynolds RIAS RIBA

Reynolds Architecture Ltd
1 Tulloch Street
DINGWALL IV15 9JY
United Kingdom
01349 867766

info@reynolds-architecture.com

Mr Peter Richardson FRIAS RIBA

ZM Architecture
62 Albion Street, Glasgow, G1 1NY
0141 572 7001

mail@zmarchitecture.co.uk

Mr Archibald Richmond RIAS RIBA

Richmond Architects
10 G/R
10 Castle Terrace
DUMBARTON G82 1QY
United Kingdom
01389 765578

mail@richmondarchitects.co.uk

Mr Michael Ritchie RIAS RIBA

Mantell Ritchie
No 27A High Street
BANFF AB45 1AN
United Kingdom
01261 812 267

admin@mantellritchie.co.uk

Mr Gary Sinclair RIAS RIBA

Gary Sinclair Architecture
The Studio
Sanna House
Low Road
Kirriemuir
WESTMUIR DD8 5LN
United Kingdom
01575 570 977

web@garysinclairarchitecture.com

Mr Bruce Stephens RIAS RIBA

Bell Ingram Design
Durn
Isla Road
PERTH PH2 7HF
United Kingdom
01738 621121

enquiries@bellingram.co.uk

Mr Adrian Stewart RIAS RIBA

Do Architecture
139 Stockwell Street
GLASGOW G1 4LR
United Kingdom
0141 553 1103

info@do-architecture.co.uk

Mr Scott Strachan RIAS RIBA

Scott Strachan Architect
The Hurst, Old Perth Road, Milnathort, KY13 9YA
01577 862694

scott@scottstrachan.co.uk

Mr Peter Tait RIAS RIBA

Reds 27
Research Environment Design, Meadowbank, 27 Holdings, Longforgan, DD2 5HU
01382 360 558

reds27.architecture@live.com

Ms Lynda Tolmie RIAS RIBA

Tolmie Ltd
12 Deanhaugh Street
EDINBURGH EH4 1LY
United Kingdom
0131 315 3100

ljt@tolmie.org.uk

Non-RIAS Member Approved Certifiers

John Garner

Anderson Bell Christie Architects
382 Great Western Road
GLASGOW G4 9HT
United Kingdom
Phone 0141 339 1515

johngarner@andersonbellchristie.com

Mr Lennox Boyd

Lennox Boyd
Highland Architecture, Caledonian House, High Street, Dingwall, IV15 9RY
Phone 01349 866999

lennox.boyd@mac.com

John Braid

Leslie Hutt Architect
3 View Place, Inverness, IV2 4SA
Phone 01463 235566

johnbraid@leshutt.co.uk

Kevin Crawford

Crawford Architectural Design Services
Spiersbridge Business Park
Unit 1, 1 Spiersbridge Way
THORNLIEBANK G46 8NG
United Kingdom
Phone 0141 428 3491

kevin@crawfordarchitectural.co.uk

Mr Stewart Douglas

CDM Nationwide Limited
Suite 113
111 West George Street
GLASGOW G2 1QX
United Kingdom
Phone 08000 148 048

stewart.douglas@cdm.scot

John Fyall

John A. Fyall Bsc(Hons)FBEng. Bld.Eng.Co
12 Beachmont Court, Dunbar, East Lothian, EH42 1YF
Phone 01368 863752

jfyall@buildingcompliance.org.uk

Mr John Gilluley

Woodend Safety and Sustainability
Unit 23 Abercorn Street Industrial Estate
Abercorn Street
PAISLEY PA3 4AY
United Kingdom
Phone 01505 342021

enquiries@woodendsafety.co.uk

Kirsty Henderson

Cruden Homes (East) Ltd
Baberton House
Westburn Avenue
EDINBURGH EH14 3HN
United Kingdom
Phone 0131 442 5795

k.henderson@crudenhomes.co.uk

Graeme Hunter

CDA (Comprehensive Design Architects)
16 Moray Place, Edinburgh, EH3 6DT
Phone 0131 225 1111

ghunter@cda-edin.co.uk

Philip Levack

Nicoll Russell Studios
111 King Street, Broughty Ferry, Dundee, Angus, DD5 1EL
Phone 01382 778 966

philip.levack@nrsarchitects.com

Mr Euan Lochhead

John Renshaw Architects
86 Constitution Street
EDINBURGH EH6 8BB
United Kingdom
Phone 0131 555 2245

euanlochhead@johnrenshawarchitects.co.uk

Roderick MacLeod

Wellwood Leslie Chartered Architects
Fort Street House, Broughty Ferry, Dundee, DD5 2AB
Phone 01382 778829

rmacLeod@wellwoodleslie.com

Alistair Mair

Stairhill Architecture Ltd
Stairhill
MAUCHLINE KA5 5HN
United Kingdom
Phone 01292 591 500

alistair@stairhill.co.uk

Derek Marshall

J. Smart & Co (Contractors) PLC
28 Cramond Road South, Edinburgh, EH4 6AB
Phone 0131 336 2181

derek.marshall@jsmart.co.uk

Gary Mees

G Mees Architectural Technology
15 The Firs
Dalgety Bay
DUNFERMLINE KY11 9UH
United Kingdom
Mobile 07966 393 105

gamees@gmat-technology.co.uk

Mr David Murphy

Grant Murray Architects
30 Bell Street
GLASGOW G1 1LG
United Kingdom
Phone 0141 553 1999

dmurphy@grantmurray.co.uk

Mr Bruce Newlands

kraft architecture
280 High Street
GLASGOW G4 0QT
United Kingdom
Phone 01415525722

bruce@kraftarchitecture.co.uk

Mr Christopher Mark O'Connor

LJR+H Architects
18 South Tay Street
DUNDEE DD1 1PD
United Kingdom
Phone 01382 200511

admin@ljrh.co.uk

Colin O'Neill

J. Smart & Co (Contractors) PLC
28 Cramond Road South, Edinburgh, EH4 6AB
Phone 0131 336 2181

colin.oneill@jsmart.co.uk

Richard Phelps

Whalsay02 Ltd
3 Meadow Park, Kennoway, Fife, KY8 5TZ
Mobile 07974159151

r.dsp@btinternet.com

Ross Robertson MCIAT

Chartered Architectural Technologist
Hudson House, Detail Design Solutions, 8 Albany Street, Edinburgh, EH1 3QB
Phone 07872447095

ross@detaildesignsolutions.co.uk

Mr James Slater

Slater Architecture
Cottage of Badenscoth
Rothienorman
Inverurie
ABERDEENSHIRE AB51 8XQ
United Kingdom
Phone 07966258665

info@slaterarchitecture.co.uk

David Sutherland

Chartered Architectural Technologist
15 Lindsay Drive, Wick, Caithness, KW1 4PG
Phone 07815505564

davidsutherland@fastmail.co.uk

Pauline Sutherland-Thomson

Gerry Robb Architectural Design Service
Bridgend, Bridgeview Road, Aboyne, Aberdeenshire, AB34 5HB
Phone 01339886359

gerry@gerryrobb.co.uk

Alexander Taylor

NHBC Services Ltd
Suite 4 - 5, New Mart Place, Edinburgh, EH14 1RW
Phone 0131 455 3107

Graeme Turner

Coltart Earley Architecture
11 Clairmont Gardens
GLASGOW G3 7LW
United Kingdom
Phone 0141 353 7488

graeme.turner@coltart-earley.co.uk

Mr James Walinck

Hackland and Dore Architects Ltd
16 Annandale Street
EDINBURGH EH7 4AN
United Kingdom
Phone 0131 538 7707

james.walinck@hackland-dore.com