At its Awards Dinner in Edinburgh on 14th June, The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) announced 12 winners for its 2017 Awards, representing the very best of current Scottish architecture. The judging panel was Ole Wiig FRIAS, Lorraine Landels Hon FRIAS, Stuart McKnight RIAS RIBA (representing the Royal Institute of British Architects) and Karen Anderson FRIAS (Timber Award).

Stewart Henderson, President of the RIAS, commented:

“The quality of contemporary Scottish architecture is well worthy of celebration. These awards demonstrate that buildings of all scales and throughout the country are exemplary in their design, execution and in what they deliver for their clients, users and communities.”

In the sixth year of the restyled awards the RIAS has again teamed up with Forestry Commission Scotland/Wood for Good, Historic Environment Scotland, The Scottish Government, Zero Waste Scotland and Saint-Gobain for our five prestigious sub-category awards.

The RIAS Awards 2017 winners are (listed alphabetically):

City of Glasgow College - City Campus, Glasgow (contract value not for publication)

Reiach and Hall Architects / Michael Laird Architects

Due West, Argyll & Bute (contract value not for publication)

cameronwebster architects

Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries , Dunfermline (contract value: £.9.1m)

Richard Murphy Architects

Eastwood Health and Care Centre, Glasgow (contract value: £12.1m)

Hoskins Architects

Edinburgh Road, Musselburgh (contract value not for publication)

A449 LTD

Fernaig Cottage, Wester Ross (contract value not for publication)

Scampton and Barnett Architects

Glendale Primary School and Bunsgoil Ghàidhlig Ghleann Dail, Glasgow (contract value: £12.2m)

Glasgow City Council - DRS Project Management & Design

James Gillespie's Campus, Edinburgh (contract value: £28.5m)


Moray Place, Edinburgh (contract value not for publication)

Somner Macdonald Architects

Newhouse of Auchengree, North Ayrshire (contract value not for publication)

Ann Nisbet Studio

Powis Place, Aberdeen (contract value: £10.5m)

Carson & Partners

Rockvilla - National Theatre of Scotland HQ, Glasgow (contract value: £4.9m)

Hoskins Architects

Special Category Awards:

Special Category Award - the Best Use of Timber

The winner of the Wood for Good/Forestry Commission Scotland Award for the Best Use of Timber was:

Culardoch Shieling, Aberdeenshire by Moxon Architects Ltd

Special Category Award - Conservation and Climate Change

The winner of the Historic Environment Scotland Award for Conservation and Climate Change was:

Dalkeith Corn Exchange by Michael Laird Architects

Special Category Award - Resource Efficiency

The winner of Zero Waste

Fernaig Cottage, Wester Ross by Scampton and Barnett Architects

RIAS President’s Award for Placemaking

Holyrood North Student Accommodation and Outreach Centre, Edinburgh by jmarchitects, Oberlanders Architects and John C Hope Architects

Special Category Award – Emerging Architect

The winner of the Saint-Gobain Emerging Architect Award was:

Neil Taylor, Taylor Architecture Practice Ltd (T.A.P.) for Aerial Adventures, East Kilbride and the Scottish National Waterski Centre, Dunfermline

Special Category Award - Scotland’s Client of the Year

The winner of the Scottish Government Scotland’s Client of the Year Award was:

Fife Council for Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries by Richard Murphy Architects

The shortlist for the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award, supported by the Doolan family and the Scottish Government (to be presented in November at the National Museum of Scotland) consists of all 12 of the RIAS Awards 2017 winners.

The RIBA National Awards for Scotland will be announced on 22nd June.