The RIAS Doolan Award for Architecture was established in 2002. Its objective is clear, to find and celebrate the best buildings in Scotland. The architects of the winning building will receive £25,000, making this both the largest architectural prize in the UK and one of the most significant architecture awards in the world.

The award

The award was renamed the RIAS Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award in 2004 in memory of its founder and patron, the inspired architect /developer Andy Doolan, who died in April of that year. The award would not exist without his extraordinary generosity and vision. Andy's family have kindly agreed to continue this support. The Scottish Government also supports the award to promote and celebrate the best standards of design in Scotland.

The RIAS is grateful for the generosity of the Doolan family and the Scottish Government.

2018 winner

Nucleus, The Nuclear Decommissioning Authority and Caithness Archive, Wick
Reiach and Hall Architects

Previous award winners:

2017 Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries, Dunfermline
Richard Murphy Architects

2016 Saunders Centre, Science & Technology Building

PagePark Architects

2015 West Burn Lane, St Andrews

Sutherland Hussey Harris

2014 Advocate's Close, Edinburgh
Morgan McDonnell Architecture

2013 WASPS South Block, Glasgow
NORD Architecture

2012 Maggie's Gartnavel, Glasgow

2011 The National Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh
Gareth Hoskins Architects

2010 Shettleston Housing Association Offices, Glasgow
Elder and Cannon Architects

2009 Small Animal Hospital, Glasgow
Archial Architects

2008 Castlemilk Stables Restoration, Glasgow
Elder and Cannon Architects

Potterrow Development, University of Edinburgh
Bennetts Associates Architects

2007 Pier Arts Centre, Stromness
Reiach and Hall Architects

2006 Maggie's Highland Cancer Care Centre, Inverness
/PagePark Architects

2005 The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh

2004 St Aloysius College, Clavius Building, Glasgow
Elder and Cannon Architects

2003 An Turas, Tiree
Sutherland Hussey Architects with Jake Harvey, Glen Onwin, Donald Urquhart and Sandra Kennedy

2002 Dance Base, Edinburgh
Malcolm Fraser Architects