RIAS/RIBA Awards 2020 - Shortlist Announced

The RIAS Awards and Doolan Award processes are currently postponed due to Covid-19

The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) has announced an 18 strong shortlist for its 2020 awards (from 80 entries).

The shortlist for Scotland comprises the following buildings (listed alphabetically):

Aberdeen Art Gallery (contract value not for publication)
Hoskins Architects for Aberdeen City Council

Altarf, Isle of Skye (contract value not for publication)
Ann Nisbet Studio for a private client

An Cala, Sutherland (contract value not for publication)
Mary Arnold-Forster Architects for a private client

Bayes Centre, Edinburgh (contract value not for publication)
Bennetts Associates for University of Edinburgh

Bertha Park High School, Perth (£29m)
NORR Consultants Limited for Perth & Kinross Council

Dunira Street Housing, Glasgow (£8.38m)
Elder & Cannon Architects for Tollcross Housing Association

Edinburgh Printmakers (contract value not for publication)
Page\Park Architects for Edinburgh Printmakers

The Egg Shed, Argyll and Bute (contract value not for publication)
Oliver Chapman Architects for Scottish Canals

Faithlie Centre, Aberdeenshire (£2.5m)
Moxon Architects Ltd with Alan S Marshall Conservation Architect for Aberdeenshire Council

Global Research Innovation and Discovery (GRID) (£12m)
Sheppard Robson Architects for Heriot-Watt University

The Hill House Box, Helensburgh (£3.2m)
Carmody Groarke for National Trust for Scotland

King’s Stables Road, Mixed-Use Development, Edinburgh (c.£40m)
Fletcher Joseph Associates for Peveril Securities and Campus DM

Kyle House, Sutherland (contract value not for publication)
Groves-Raines Architects Studios Ltd for a private client

Maidenhill Primary School & Nursery, East Renfrewshire (contract value not for publication)
BDP for East Renfrewshire Council

Maryhill Locks, Glasgow (£4.76m)
jmarchitects for Bigg Regeneration Limited

The Prince & Princess of Wales Hospice, Glasgow (£21m)
Ryder Architecture for The Prince & Princess of Wales Hospice

sportscotland National Sports Training Centre, Inverclyde (£11m)
Reiach and Hall Architects for sportscotland

Watt Institution, Greenock (£1.8m)
Collective Architecture for Inverclyde Council

Reflecting on this year’s submissions and the climate challenges for Scottish architecture, Chair of the RIAS Awards judging panel Jenny Jones commented:

"Given that these projects would have been commissioned at the very least, several years ago, there are some very strong carbon-conscious submissions which demonstrate an attention to the challenges we all face.

The greater shift will become evident in the next years if we continue to challenge and create innovative responses as to how we can “build” with environmental consciousness."

The judging panel for this year is Jenny Jones, Founding Director and Architect at Studio Jenny Jones (Chair), Tony Chapman, former head of Awards at RIBA and freelance architecture critic (representing the Royal Institute of British Architects), Brian McGinlay, Founding Director and Architect at McGinlay Bell and Ann Allen, Chair of Architecture & Design Scotland.

Nick Ribbons, Sector Manager – Construction at Zero Waste Scotland, Joann Russell, Head of Estates Conservation Directorate at Historic Environment Scotland and Steven Robb, Deputy Head of Casework, Heritage Directorate at Historic Environment Scotland were also involved in the shortlisting discussions.